First Graphic Pen Drawing – The Grinch

the-grinchMy new Ugee M1000L Graphics Drawing Pen Tablet arrived today!

It’s going to take some getting used to, but here is my first drawing to test it out. Nothing fancy but, since my son has watched The Grinch every day for the last month, I figured this was a good first drawing.

Drawing with a pen on the computer is soo much different than drawing with a pencil/pen on paper. The fact that there are layers available on the computer opens up a whole new level of creativity than something you can do on paper.

I started this drawing off with a rough sketch. Nothing fancy, just sketch to get the basic shapes.

 

the-grinch-sketch

Then I made another layer and went over the sketch with a darker (ink) brush. This really cleans the drawing up. The long straight lines were tricky but I’m sure with some practice using the pad I’ll get them nice and smooth on future drawings.

the-grinch-ink

Next, some color. This took longer than I thought because I’m not used to using this thing yet and it was a bit tedious in the small nooks and crannies. I definitely colored outside of the lines on this one. But, I just went back along the edges with the eraser and it’s good to go.

the-grinch-color

Finally, I added the background layer.

the-grinch

All in all, it didn’t turn out too bad at all for the first drawing. If I had to make this same drawing with a mouse it would have taken me hours and hours.


gold-steemit-follow

stephen-king989

Leave a Reply

